The winner of the 2014 Jean Delay Prize is Professor Mitsumoto Sato, from Japan


The Jean Delay Prize was created in 1999 to reward any individual who has made a major contribution to clinical, biological, and social psychiatry or who has built bridges between these fields. The prize is given every 3 years and is the most prestigious award of the World Psychiatric Association (WPA). Servier is its only sponsor.

Thirteen candidates were nominated for the 2014 prize, which was awarded to Professor Mitsumoto Sato, Japan, who will receive the prize from Professor Ruiz, President of the WPA, during the 16th WPA Congress in Madrid in September 2014.

Professor Sato was the originator of a scientific and human movement in Japan, between 1995 and 2002, to rename schizophrenia "integration disease." This movement has greatly helped to improve the image of psychiatry and of psychiatric disease, and to enhance the quality of life of schizophrenic patients.

Professor Sato is an emeritus professor at the University of Tohoku Fukushi and also an advisor to the Japanese government regarding the pharmaceutical affairs. He is particularly involved in the study of anxiety disorders, schizophrenia, and epilepsy. His work has been the object of many articles in Japanese and international journals, as well as chapters in several books.